Screenshots
Search Visibility
App name
SoundMeter X
Description
SoundMeter X turns your iOS device into a handheld data-logging sound level meter (SLM), data-logging noise dosimeter, multi-channel data recorder, and real-time analyzer (RTA). Input signals can be acquired from the current audio input path (iOS automatically selects the audio input path according to which external audio devices, if any, are connected to your iOS device). Sensitivity calibration can also be performed for any audio input device or input channel. In addition to real-time sound level measurements, SoundMeter can stream raw sound data to audio files, and store acquired sound level data, including date, time, and location, in CSV or TXT (tab-delimited) files, MAT-files, or high-resolution PDF images for later retrieval from your device. SoundMeter may be downloaded for free from the App Store. Additional tools and features are offered via auto-renewable subscriptions. The SoundMeter Pro subscription includes: - Level MeterLp, Leq, Lx sound levels -- Standard Flat, A, C frequency weighting -- Standard Fast, Slow, Impulse time weighting -- Data logging. Data can be logged as often as every 0.1 seconds for up to 8 hours, every second for up to 72 hours, or every 10 seconds for up to two weeks. -- Event notifications - Max Levels Meter -- Traffic-light-style meters make it easy to monitor 2 separate sound level thresholds in 2 independent user-defined frequency bands. -- Define lower (warning) and higher (limit) sound level thresholds for overall (full audio band) levels as well as for individual octave frequency bands. -- Store user-defined thresholds in files for later recall. - noise dosimeter -- 8-hour Noise Dose, Projected Dose, TWA calculations -- Criterion Levels: 80, 85, 90 dB -- Exchange Rates: 3, 4, 5 dB -- Data logging. Data can be logged as often as every 0.1 seconds for up to 8 hours, every second for up to 72 hours, or every 10 seconds for up to two weeks. - Octave Analyzer (RTA) -- Lp, Leq, Lx sound levels -- Supports whole or 1/3-octave frequency bands -- Standard Flat, A, C frequency weighting -- Standard Fast, Slow, Impulse time weighting -- Data logging. Data can be logged as often as every 0.1 seconds for up to 8 hours, every second for up to 72 hours, or every 10 seconds for up to two weeks. - Data Recorder -- Supports up to 8 channels -- Live monitoring of recorded data -- Metadata (including calibrated sensitivity) embedded in audio file (AIF, CAF, WAV), optionally saved in separate data file - Signal Generator -- Left and right outputs assigned to arbitrary hardware output channels -- Random and pseudorandom (periodic) noise sequences with white or pink spectrum -- Linear and logarithmic frequency sweeps -- Dual periodic waveforms with arbitrary frequency and phase difference The Pro Tool Set subscription can be shared between SoundMeter X and SignalScope X. It unlocks all tools and features of the SoundMeter Pro subscription in SoundMeter X and all tools and features of the Pro Tool Set subscription in SignalScope X (iCloud login required). Regarding subscriptions - Payment will be charged to your iTunes Account at the end of the free trial period, unless you have turned off automatic renewal. If the free trial has already expired, payment will be charged at confirmation of subscription purchase. - Subscription automatically renews unless auto-renew is turned off at least 24 hours before the end of the current period. - Your account will be charged for renewal within 24 hours prior to the end of the current period for the same price as the current period. - You may manage your subscriptions and auto-renewal may be turned off by going to your iTunes Account Settings after purchase. - Any unused portion of the free trial period will be forfeited when you purchase a subscription, where applicable. Terms and Conditions, and Privacy Policy, may be accessed at https://FaberAcoustical.com.
Rip off! Save your money.
by dadaDoofy on 2020/04/26 16:22
Several years ago I bought the whole suit of apps from this company only to find out recently that all the products I bought have been rendered non-functional by them. Instead of being able to use the apps I already paid for, they want me to pay buy new versions. The developer response to other similar comments is you can still use your old app. If you buy a new device, you can't because they removed the old app from the App Store! What a bunch of crooks!!
Cheaters
by sjrdragon on 2020/03/10 05:59
I installed Sound Meter years ago and spent under a hundred dollars upgrading tools. Now I cannot even access the original app.
Useless free app unless you pay big money
by USD is paper on 2020/01/30 10:32
Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money
Can’t do anything without expensive subscriptions
by The bobster1 on 2019/11/23 17:06
Multiple, multiple subscriptions required of all sorts and prices to do anything worthwhile. Better to pass on this one.
Accurate sound meter
by J_in_orf on 2019/09/30 00:05
So I saw a lot of complaints regarding the cost of licensing and others based on folks who feel that they were cheated out of licensing. While I cannot comment on those specifics, remember that Microsoft does the exact same thing with Office 365. The developers have to pay the bills as well. As for the free version of this app, it does what it says, and does it well. I tested it against an actual sound meter and had readings within 1 dB of each other across a wide spectrum of intensities and frequencies. For most people, I’m sure this accuracy will suffice. The user interface is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It fits the bill for my, especially since the basic version is free.
Noise assessment
by joarpo on 2019/09/25 15:42
These product has proven to be very reliable and very productive in my work. I will definitely recommend it.
Don’t waste your money
by Pmdurrett on 2019/09/23 22:25
I bought sound meter and other Faber tools a few years ago and now they don’t work. They want me to buy the latest version that works with the newt OS. Dirty business right there.
Fantastic, but too pricey.
by 1stWorldDF on 2019/09/07 22:07
This app is excellent! It does everything it says, and it does those things well. It would easily be 5 stars… but for the fact that the majority of the app’s features are locked behind an outrageously expensive paywall. $100 is the price to enjoy full utility from this otherwise superb audio metering app. Should you decide that a fully featured, professional app like this is necessary for your work/passion and worth the price you better be right because you’re going to owe another $100+ in 12 months. That’s right, for all that $ you don’t actually own anything. Even worse, I suspect (but don’t truly know) that, should your subscription lapse, you‘ll be locked out of saved data that you’d already paid over $100 to create. Despite all of my complaints, I admit that I’ve been subscribed to the ~$20/yearly basic+ version of this app for longer than I’d care to admit. That I don’t plan to cancel should say it all. 😕 - less than wealthy former audio pro, current hobbyist.
From expensive to subscription
by System24 on 2019/06/10 18:59
I purchased this app for $150+ a few years back. Now, most of the features are non-usable without a subscription. Completely uncalled for. Had I known then what I know now, I wouldn’t have given them the money. Extremely displeased.
The app almost made me last for work
by fairchildbria on 2018/11/12 12:29
I am really surprised this app doesn’t automatically shut off after an hour or so after use. Anyways when it’s on, your speakers don’t work so it essentially shut off my alarm for work at 5am. The reason I got this application was for baby sound monitoring. You think a tired and working parent will always remember to shut this off for much later alarms?
Click bait
by L a r r y i T u n e s on 2018/10/26 18:04
All functions except basic sound meter require subscriptions up to $179 for one year. Not even a way to reset readings in basic sound meter.
Fantastic, but too pricey.
by 1stWorldDF on 2019/09/07 22:07
This app is excellent! It does everything it says, and it does those things well. It would easily be 5 stars… but for the fact that the majority of the app’s features are locked behind an outrageously expensive paywall. $100 is the price to enjoy full utility from this otherwise superb audio metering app. Should you decide that a fully featured, professional app like this is necessary for your work/passion and worth the price you better be right because you’re going to owe another $100+ in 12 months. That’s right, for all that $ you don’t actually own anything. Even worse, I suspect (but don’t truly know) that, should your subscription lapse, you‘ll be locked out of saved data that you’d already paid over $100 to create. Despite all of my complaints, I admit that I’ve been subscribed to the ~$20/yearly basic+ version of this app for longer than I’d care to admit. That I don’t plan to cancel should say it all. 😕 - less than wealthy former audio pro, current hobbyist.
Accurate sound meter
by J_in_orf on 2019/09/30 00:05
So I saw a lot of complaints regarding the cost of licensing and others based on folks who feel that they were cheated out of licensing. While I cannot comment on those specifics, remember that Microsoft does the exact same thing with Office 365. The developers have to pay the bills as well. As for the free version of this app, it does what it says, and does it well. I tested it against an actual sound meter and had readings within 1 dB of each other across a wide spectrum of intensities and frequencies. For most people, I’m sure this accuracy will suffice. The user interface is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It fits the bill for my, especially since the basic version is free.
Noise assessment
by joarpo on 2019/09/25 15:42
These product has proven to be very reliable and very productive in my work. I will definitely recommend it.
Rip off! Save your money.
by dadaDoofy on 2020/04/26 16:22
Several years ago I bought the whole suit of apps from this company only to find out recently that all the products I bought have been rendered non-functional by them. Instead of being able to use the apps I already paid for, they want me to pay buy new versions. The developer response to other similar comments is you can still use your old app. If you buy a new device, you can't because they removed the old app from the App Store! What a bunch of crooks!!
The app almost made me last for work
by fairchildbria on 2018/11/12 12:29
I am really surprised this app doesn’t automatically shut off after an hour or so after use. Anyways when it’s on, your speakers don’t work so it essentially shut off my alarm for work at 5am. The reason I got this application was for baby sound monitoring. You think a tired and working parent will always remember to shut this off for much later alarms?
Cheaters
by sjrdragon on 2020/03/10 05:59
I installed Sound Meter years ago and spent under a hundred dollars upgrading tools. Now I cannot even access the original app.
From expensive to subscription
by System24 on 2019/06/10 18:59
I purchased this app for $150+ a few years back. Now, most of the features are non-usable without a subscription. Completely uncalled for. Had I known then what I know now, I wouldn’t have given them the money. Extremely displeased.
Can’t do anything without expensive subscriptions
by The bobster1 on 2019/11/23 17:06
Multiple, multiple subscriptions required of all sorts and prices to do anything worthwhile. Better to pass on this one.
Don’t waste your money
by Pmdurrett on 2019/09/23 22:25
I bought sound meter and other Faber tools a few years ago and now they don’t work. They want me to buy the latest version that works with the newt OS. Dirty business right there.
Click bait
by L a r r y i T u n e s on 2018/10/26 18:04
All functions except basic sound meter require subscriptions up to $179 for one year. Not even a way to reset readings in basic sound meter.
Useless free app unless you pay big money
by USD is paper on 2020/01/30 10:32
Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money
Rating Trends
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
All Versions
3.0
29 total
 5
16
 4
2
 3
2
 2
1
 1
8
Current Version (11.0)
3.0
29 total
 5
16
 4
2
 3
2
 2
1
 1
8
Version History
More...
Screenshots
Search Visibility
App name
SoundMeter X
Description
SoundMeter X turns your iOS device into a handheld data-logging sound level meter (SLM), data-logging noise dosimeter, multi-channel data recorder, and real-time analyzer (RTA). Input signals can be acquired from the current audio input path (iOS automatically selects the audio input path according to which external audio devices, if any, are connected to your iOS device). Sensitivity calibration can also be performed for any audio input device or input channel. In addition to real-time sound level measurements, SoundMeter can stream raw sound data to audio files, and store acquired sound level data, including date, time, and location, in CSV or TXT (tab-delimited) files, MAT-files, or high-resolution PDF images for later retrieval from your device. SoundMeter may be downloaded for free from the App Store. Additional tools and features are offered via auto-renewable subscriptions. The SoundMeter Pro subscription includes: - Level MeterLp, Leq, Lx sound levels -- Standard Flat, A, C frequency weighting -- Standard Fast, Slow, Impulse time weighting -- Data logging. Data can be logged as often as every 0.1 seconds for up to 8 hours, every second for up to 72 hours, or every 10 seconds for up to two weeks. -- Event notifications - Max Levels Meter -- Traffic-light-style meters make it easy to monitor 2 separate sound level thresholds in 2 independent user-defined frequency bands. -- Define lower (warning) and higher (limit) sound level thresholds for overall (full audio band) levels as well as for individual octave frequency bands. -- Store user-defined thresholds in files for later recall. - noise dosimeter -- 8-hour Noise Dose, Projected Dose, TWA calculations -- Criterion Levels: 80, 85, 90 dB -- Exchange Rates: 3, 4, 5 dB -- Data logging. Data can be logged as often as every 0.1 seconds for up to 8 hours, every second for up to 72 hours, or every 10 seconds for up to two weeks. - Octave Analyzer (RTA) -- Lp, Leq, Lx sound levels -- Supports whole or 1/3-octave frequency bands -- Standard Flat, A, C frequency weighting -- Standard Fast, Slow, Impulse time weighting -- Data logging. Data can be logged as often as every 0.1 seconds for up to 8 hours, every second for up to 72 hours, or every 10 seconds for up to two weeks. - Data Recorder -- Supports up to 8 channels -- Live monitoring of recorded data -- Metadata (including calibrated sensitivity) embedded in audio file (AIF, CAF, WAV), optionally saved in separate data file - Signal Generator -- Left and right outputs assigned to arbitrary hardware output channels -- Random and pseudorandom (periodic) noise sequences with white or pink spectrum -- Linear and logarithmic frequency sweeps -- Dual periodic waveforms with arbitrary frequency and phase difference The Pro Tool Set subscription can be shared between SoundMeter X and SignalScope X. It unlocks all tools and features of the SoundMeter Pro subscription in SoundMeter X and all tools and features of the Pro Tool Set subscription in SignalScope X (iCloud login required). Regarding subscriptions - Payment will be charged to your iTunes Account at the end of the free trial period, unless you have turned off automatic renewal. If the free trial has already expired, payment will be charged at confirmation of subscription purchase. - Subscription automatically renews unless auto-renew is turned off at least 24 hours before the end of the current period. - Your account will be charged for renewal within 24 hours prior to the end of the current period for the same price as the current period. - You may manage your subscriptions and auto-renewal may be turned off by going to your iTunes Account Settings after purchase. - Any unused portion of the free trial period will be forfeited when you purchase a subscription, where applicable. Terms and Conditions, and Privacy Policy, may be accessed at https://FaberAcoustical.com.
Rip off! Save your money.
by dadaDoofy on 2020/04/26 16:22
Several years ago I bought the whole suit of apps from this company only to find out recently that all the products I bought have been rendered non-functional by them. Instead of being able to use the apps I already paid for, they want me to pay buy new versions. The developer response to other similar comments is you can still use your old app. If you buy a new device, you can't because they removed the old app from the App Store! What a bunch of crooks!!
Cheaters
by sjrdragon on 2020/03/10 05:59
I installed Sound Meter years ago and spent under a hundred dollars upgrading tools. Now I cannot even access the original app.
Useless free app unless you pay big money
by USD is paper on 2020/01/30 10:32
Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money
Can’t do anything without expensive subscriptions
by The bobster1 on 2019/11/23 17:06
Multiple, multiple subscriptions required of all sorts and prices to do anything worthwhile. Better to pass on this one.
Accurate sound meter
by J_in_orf on 2019/09/30 00:05
So I saw a lot of complaints regarding the cost of licensing and others based on folks who feel that they were cheated out of licensing. While I cannot comment on those specifics, remember that Microsoft does the exact same thing with Office 365. The developers have to pay the bills as well. As for the free version of this app, it does what it says, and does it well. I tested it against an actual sound meter and had readings within 1 dB of each other across a wide spectrum of intensities and frequencies. For most people, I’m sure this accuracy will suffice. The user interface is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It fits the bill for my, especially since the basic version is free.
Noise assessment
by joarpo on 2019/09/25 15:42
These product has proven to be very reliable and very productive in my work. I will definitely recommend it.
Don’t waste your money
by Pmdurrett on 2019/09/23 22:25
I bought sound meter and other Faber tools a few years ago and now they don’t work. They want me to buy the latest version that works with the newt OS. Dirty business right there.
Fantastic, but too pricey.
by 1stWorldDF on 2019/09/07 22:07
This app is excellent! It does everything it says, and it does those things well. It would easily be 5 stars… but for the fact that the majority of the app’s features are locked behind an outrageously expensive paywall. $100 is the price to enjoy full utility from this otherwise superb audio metering app. Should you decide that a fully featured, professional app like this is necessary for your work/passion and worth the price you better be right because you’re going to owe another $100+ in 12 months. That’s right, for all that $ you don’t actually own anything. Even worse, I suspect (but don’t truly know) that, should your subscription lapse, you‘ll be locked out of saved data that you’d already paid over $100 to create. Despite all of my complaints, I admit that I’ve been subscribed to the ~$20/yearly basic+ version of this app for longer than I’d care to admit. That I don’t plan to cancel should say it all. 😕 - less than wealthy former audio pro, current hobbyist.
From expensive to subscription
by System24 on 2019/06/10 18:59
I purchased this app for $150+ a few years back. Now, most of the features are non-usable without a subscription. Completely uncalled for. Had I known then what I know now, I wouldn’t have given them the money. Extremely displeased.
The app almost made me last for work
by fairchildbria on 2018/11/12 12:29
I am really surprised this app doesn’t automatically shut off after an hour or so after use. Anyways when it’s on, your speakers don’t work so it essentially shut off my alarm for work at 5am. The reason I got this application was for baby sound monitoring. You think a tired and working parent will always remember to shut this off for much later alarms?
Click bait
by L a r r y i T u n e s on 2018/10/26 18:04
All functions except basic sound meter require subscriptions up to $179 for one year. Not even a way to reset readings in basic sound meter.
Fantastic, but too pricey.
by 1stWorldDF on 2019/09/07 22:07
This app is excellent! It does everything it says, and it does those things well. It would easily be 5 stars… but for the fact that the majority of the app’s features are locked behind an outrageously expensive paywall. $100 is the price to enjoy full utility from this otherwise superb audio metering app. Should you decide that a fully featured, professional app like this is necessary for your work/passion and worth the price you better be right because you’re going to owe another $100+ in 12 months. That’s right, for all that $ you don’t actually own anything. Even worse, I suspect (but don’t truly know) that, should your subscription lapse, you‘ll be locked out of saved data that you’d already paid over $100 to create. Despite all of my complaints, I admit that I’ve been subscribed to the ~$20/yearly basic+ version of this app for longer than I’d care to admit. That I don’t plan to cancel should say it all. 😕 - less than wealthy former audio pro, current hobbyist.
Accurate sound meter
by J_in_orf on 2019/09/30 00:05
So I saw a lot of complaints regarding the cost of licensing and others based on folks who feel that they were cheated out of licensing. While I cannot comment on those specifics, remember that Microsoft does the exact same thing with Office 365. The developers have to pay the bills as well. As for the free version of this app, it does what it says, and does it well. I tested it against an actual sound meter and had readings within 1 dB of each other across a wide spectrum of intensities and frequencies. For most people, I’m sure this accuracy will suffice. The user interface is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It fits the bill for my, especially since the basic version is free.
Noise assessment
by joarpo on 2019/09/25 15:42
These product has proven to be very reliable and very productive in my work. I will definitely recommend it.
Rip off! Save your money.
by dadaDoofy on 2020/04/26 16:22
Several years ago I bought the whole suit of apps from this company only to find out recently that all the products I bought have been rendered non-functional by them. Instead of being able to use the apps I already paid for, they want me to pay buy new versions. The developer response to other similar comments is you can still use your old app. If you buy a new device, you can't because they removed the old app from the App Store! What a bunch of crooks!!
The app almost made me last for work
by fairchildbria on 2018/11/12 12:29
I am really surprised this app doesn’t automatically shut off after an hour or so after use. Anyways when it’s on, your speakers don’t work so it essentially shut off my alarm for work at 5am. The reason I got this application was for baby sound monitoring. You think a tired and working parent will always remember to shut this off for much later alarms?
Cheaters
by sjrdragon on 2020/03/10 05:59
I installed Sound Meter years ago and spent under a hundred dollars upgrading tools. Now I cannot even access the original app.
From expensive to subscription
by System24 on 2019/06/10 18:59
I purchased this app for $150+ a few years back. Now, most of the features are non-usable without a subscription. Completely uncalled for. Had I known then what I know now, I wouldn’t have given them the money. Extremely displeased.
Can’t do anything without expensive subscriptions
by The bobster1 on 2019/11/23 17:06
Multiple, multiple subscriptions required of all sorts and prices to do anything worthwhile. Better to pass on this one.
Don’t waste your money
by Pmdurrett on 2019/09/23 22:25
I bought sound meter and other Faber tools a few years ago and now they don’t work. They want me to buy the latest version that works with the newt OS. Dirty business right there.
Click bait
by L a r r y i T u n e s on 2018/10/26 18:04
All functions except basic sound meter require subscriptions up to $179 for one year. Not even a way to reset readings in basic sound meter.
Useless free app unless you pay big money
by USD is paper on 2020/01/30 10:32
Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money Useless free app unless you pay big money
Rating Trends
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
All Versions
3.0
29 total
 5
16
 4
2
 3
2
 2
1
 1
8
Current Version (11.0)
3.0
29 total
 5
16
 4
2
 3
2
 2
1
 1
8
Version History
More...